The Guy Who Changed My Life

We all have the power to change the lives of others. Some of us go to school and learn the skills of a profession that will shape lives. We spend years and tens of thousands of dollars in school to do it. Others cultivate the ability to affect the lives of others, and it takes time. They have to dedicate themselves and put in the work.

But I met a guy last week with the power to change lives JUST BY EXISTING! I know it sounds crazy, but it’s true. He wasn’t here before. And now he is. And suddenly, my daughter and her husband became a mom and a dad, my other daughter was miraculously transformed into an Auntie, and I, yes little-ol-me, I became a grandma. (I prefer Oma – the German  term- cuz it has “Om” in it!)

This guy looks a lot like others his age – very little hair, squinty eyes, and mysterious burbly sounds coming out of both ends. And yet, he has a certain charm, a je ne sais a quoix (I who am I kidding, I do sais quoix – he’s my little Om-lette!) He’s quite warm and snuggly, and he sighs adorably when I hold him in my arms. He’s definitely what you might call a Tit man; just ask his mother! And what a snappy little dresser; he has a wardrobe that knows no end, even though one sock is usually falling off.

The minute I met this little guy (yes, he’s quite short!) I fell in love. He looked at me quizzically and more deeply than I have been examined in a long time. My daughter says he doesn’t see very well. But he and I knew we were exchanging the first of many looks that would link us for a long, long time to come.

Unlike many cute guys I have met, this one is staying out of the spotlight for now. He wishes to remain anonymous. That’s the kind of mysterious person he is. Every time I see him, he’s changed a bit. He is quite the man of mystery.

And so I am inexplicably linked now to this new guy in my life, one who can transform people without effort. He causes my daughter to lose sleep. Her husband too. He has me speaking in strange non-words and syllables, in a tone of voice I barely recognize. He’s a powerful little dude. We talk on the phone sometimes, but he doesn’t say much. He doesn’t have to. What we share escapes mere words.

So if I sometimes seem distracted, especially by other short bald people, or if you find me staring at my phone, exclaiming, “Oh my God you are so cuuuute!” or giggling non-stop, please forgive me and cut me a little slack.

There’s a new guy in my life!

About catnipkiss

I am a writer who is working on a travel memoir. I write about issues that speak to my soul: love, sex, yoga, spirituality, body image, dating and friendship, and more as it comes up! I love comments - thanks! What would YOU like to explore?
This entry was posted in home, life, love, parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Guy Who Changed My Life

  1. mike says:

    Hi,Cat. Congrats, on your your new little dude. Hope everyone is doing well. That was a great post. You’ll be the coolest Granny ever! (sorry, couldn’t resist, the Granny label!). 😉 Love Ya, sweet girl……

  2. Eric says:

    Congratulations! I love babies…..

Leave a comment