GOODBYE, 2016, AND DON’T LET THE DOOR HIT YOU IN THE ASS

OMG, 2016 was a Hellacious year. My head is still spinning.  We lost Bowie, Prince, and Alan Rickman in one fell swoop. My mentor had her house burglarized and her possessions and money from a safe stolen. On a personal level, I lost my brother in June, my heart in July, a co-worker tried her best to jeopardize my job in December, and let us not forget that the entire country lost its freaking MIND in November! (Which is why I hesitate to welcome 2017.)

Sometimes it seems that the Universe is trying to tell us something. I won’t get all politicky here, because that is so not my area of expertise, but things needed to shift in the USA, people are restless (and apparently restlessness spawns idiocy)and we are due for a shake-up. I am trying to remain open to change while I calm my scared-rabbit terrified heart.

When people don’t pay enough attention, weird things happen. I could have paid more attention to my brother and intervened sooner. Not sure what I personally could have done to save Bowie and Alan (who both died of cancer, and cancer just plain sucks!) but maybe someone should have been paying more attention to my friend Prince. (And this just in: George Michael has also passed on today! When will it end?)

I could have paid more attention to my grumbling co-worker and nipped that dissension in the bud before it went all the way to the top. All of us could have paid more attention last year to the disgruntlement of our American brothers and sisters who felt so disenfranchised that they had to make a bold statement, electing the least presidential president the USA has ever seen (an orange-faced buffoon of a reality star.) Life gets scary when we are not paying attention.

So as 2017 approaches, let’s greet the New Year with cautious optimism. Let’s support each other in the spirit of love and compassion. Let’s not turn a blind eye to those who are in need, and if we ourselves are in need, let’s learn to ask for help. We need to lift up those who are struggling, share love with those who are lonely, and reassure those who are afraid.

As Betty Davis said, “Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy ride!” (She actually said “bumpy night” but we are in for more than just one night of bumps, sadly.) And as Myrna Greenbaum said in Red Desert Penitentiary, “Are these holes or bumps?” Well, there may be some of each, and we will need to be relaxed enough that they won’t break our spines.

As a people, we need to come together and realize that we are all in this together. It’s not about black/white, right/left, rich/poor. It’s One Love.

I cautiously welcome 2017 and do so with all the positive intent and hope that I can muster. Along with a promise that I will pay attention to my surroundings, speak up when things are not ok, and definitely not become complacent. I do care what happens. And I feel a responsibility for contributing in a positive way, more strongly than ever, so that the negativity in our lives will be chased away by the sunshine. I know it might sound a little naïve and simplistic, but this is my strategy for 2017.It’s the best I can offer.

About catnipkiss

I am a writer who is working on a travel memoir. I write about issues that speak to my soul: love, sex, yoga, spirituality, body image, dating and friendship, and more as it comes up! I love comments - thanks! What would YOU like to explore?
This entry was posted in life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GOODBYE, 2016, AND DON’T LET THE DOOR HIT YOU IN THE ASS

  1. michael nagy says:

    Good bye indeed.2016 was a food fight of a year.(and not in a fun sense). Sometimes it seemed like meth night at the monkey house.(my apologies to both monkeys and meth heads.)”You guys suck,more than we do!”) You are right,let’s stop a moment,and reflect on those we lost this past year.Both those known to the world,and to those that weren’t widely known,but whose loss is felt by their loved ones.(Thoughts are with you and your family,Cat)Don’t ponder whether you could have done more for your brother,you are a caring soul,with a big heart,but you aren’t a psychic. You loved him with all you had,you could do no more than that.I am sure Eric felt all the love that surrounded him,how could he not? Let’s hope that cooler heads and caring hearts prevail in 2017. (So,can I put you down as undecided, regarding pres-elect Cheetos?) Or, to quote John Belushi “MY advise to you is,to start drinking…heavily”! Go with peace,sweet girl

  2. Christina Hildebrandt says:

    Yay, Cathy! You stay positive, girl! That’s what we need in this country.

Leave a Reply

