The Hidden Benefits of Yoga

Today I woke up from a bad dream (I was traveling and had forgotten to bring my bags and my phone was broken so I couldn’t call to have them brought) – and my alarm was going off at 6:40.  Why, you ask?  Because I had agreed to teach a 7:30 AM Sunday yoga class.

I grumpily wiped the snow off my windshield and got into my car.  I used to think heated seats were ridiculous, but not anymore.  With a warm butt and a heavy heart I opened the studio.  They are taking this class off the schedule soon.  Maybe no one will show up, and I can go home and climb back into bed with my warm doggy!

But one guy came in.  He was fairly new to yoga, an older gentleman (well, probably my age!) who was tall and athletic.  We talked about his personal yoga goals, the classes he likes to take, and I came up with a plan.  We worked on Vinyasa (linking movement and breath) in the sun salutations, on alignment in postures, and on breathing, introducing Ujai breath.

And when we were finished, my grumpiness was gone.  Where did it go?  Sucked into the yoga vortex and spit out the other side, I figured.

For this is a fairly reliable part of yoga, at least for me.  It gets rid of the psychological nonsense that buzzes around our brains most of the time.  Yoga reduces us to our core self:  breath, body, energy.  Yoga has been called a moving meditation.  And although I am completely capable of continuing my brain chatter through a class, especially as a student (this is harder when you are teaching!) I am chattering less and centering more lately.  It’s a mini-cleanse, 60 minutes or more of not-worrying, not-stressing, not-thinking.

And that is why I return to my mat, keep teaching classes, and keep my yoga practice strong.  The benefits of yoga (“union”) sometimes spread farther than we even know.

About catnipkiss

I am a writer who is working on a travel memoir. I write about issues that speak to my soul: love, sex, yoga, spirituality, body image, dating and friendship, and more as it comes up! I love comments - thanks! What would YOU like to explore?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

