Beautiful

As I was walking my dogs today, the leaves falling like golden feathers all around us, I saw a beautiful sight.  It was a young girl, maybe 14, riding her skateboard down the street.  She had dyed her hair in rainbow colors, and as she rounded the corner in front of us, the leaves cascaded down around her.  It took my breath away.

I wanted to take a picture, but I didn’t have my camera or even my phone, and in a second the moment was gone.

I wanted to call after her, “you’re beautiful!”  She would not have heard me unless I screamed it, so instead I said it loudly in my head, wishing somehow she would know it.  Wishing we all could know that about ourselves whenever it was thought.

I never even saw the girl’s face.

I had a sharp pang of missing my daughters.  Not the teenage versions, but them now, their presence in my life, their rainbow differences that makes them who they are.

I walked on more mindfully, with the three dogs:  a terrible two, a blind fuzz-bucket, and a lame greyhound rescue.  They are beautiful, too, each in their own way. We noted the crunch of leaves underfoot (or underpaw), the furry squirrels, and the warm sun on our skin and fur.  One of us tried hard not to bump into things.

If I were a painter, I would capture that image from today on a canvas, or on paper with colored pencils, to remind me that there is such remarkable beauty in our lives, if we only just pause to take notice.  Despite the times I wish for an easy way out, I know I am so blessed to live in this world.

Honor the special moments in your life.  Honor your own personal beauty.  Acknowledge the splendor you see around you.  And if you see someone who takes your breath away by their presence, their actions, their words, even their appearance, tell them so.  Even if you only shout it in your head.

About catnipkiss

I am a writer who is working on a travel memoir. I write about issues that speak to my soul: love, sex, yoga, spirituality, body image, dating and friendship, and more as it comes up! I love comments - thanks! What would YOU like to explore?
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beautiful

  1. harriet bissell says:

    Live in the moment – it’s a gift – and it keeps on changing!! I am in love with my space, rooms of my own.

  2. soundhealshh says:

    YOU are beautiful, and always have been, sister!

Leave a Reply

