NaNoWriMo – Ready Set Go….

It’s like running a marathon but never finishing.  I have attempted NaNoWriMo a few times, but I have never “won”.  National Novel Writing Month means one sits down on November 1st with a blank screen or notebook and systematically proceeds to produce 50,000 words, roughly 1667 words a day, all things being equal.  But fall behind a day or two and that seemingly easy task becomes a daunting 5,000 words in a day very quickly.

Last year I got a cold.  I had to work and that was all I had energy for.  I had written a few chapters, but when I got too behind I quit writing.  Rookie error I guess.

Truthfully, I have not been able to really write since I moved to Colorado after my year-long sabbatical, during which I traveled to 7 countries on 3 continents (and of course I wrote about my adventures.) I’ve been “home” now for 2 1/2 years.  With a real job to work around.  And lots of excuses to not write.  I’m tired.  I have work to do.  Facebook is just so totally fascinating tonight.  My roommate put on my favorite movie, so I have to watch it.

I need a kick in the pants.  NaNoWriMo is just the guy to do it.

I will try to keep you abreast of my attempts in my blog (which I also have not been writing lately.  My apologies!)

Come along for the ride, won’t you?

About catnipkiss

I am a writer who is working on a travel memoir. I write about issues that speak to my soul: love, sex, yoga, spirituality, body image, dating and friendship, and more as it comes up! I love comments - thanks! What would YOU like to explore?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNoWriMo – Ready Set Go….

  1. soundhealshh says:

    Cathy Maxwell’s outtasight!
    She sits down and she can write!

Leave a Reply

