Where the Hell is Spring?

calif and April 239

I must confess, I am ready for spring.  It’s May. It’s snowing. I grew up here, surely I should remember (from 40 years ago, and not counting any effects of global warming.?)  I turned my outdoor water on a few weeks ago.  Then it froze, pipes burst, and I had to turn it off.  I planted bulbs, beautiful daffodils that optimistically came up, waving their yellow heads in the 65 degree sun.  Now they are covered in 2 feet of snow, dead.  Yesterday my dog and I discovered a confused robin stranded in my sun porch.  A porch that is considering legally changing his name.  We freed the sweet bird, letting him fly up to a snow covered tree branch, his red breast glowing like a warning light.  Like the cop cars that pull over to stare at cars, flipped or abandoned in ditches at the side of the road as I skate to school, my heart in my throat, white knuckles on the wheel.

ENOUGH!!!

It’s been a tough winter, metaphorically.  I’m ready for spring.  Real spring.  The kind where you sit outside for dinner with a glass of chilled wine, gazing out over your yard where the roses are beginning to bud without the threat of being blasted by another two foot snowfall.  I have struggled with change, with moving, with settling down but by myself, with turning 50, with realizing that my prince just may not be out there, no matter what I have believed my whole life.  My winter has kinda sucked.

But spring….. heralded by flowers and green grass and singing birds.  I am so ready to embrace it.  To plan a trip to more exotic places, yes, alone, but happy and ready to meet new friends.  To plan a yard renovation, to welcome Couch surfers to come and help me.

I moved away from Washington because of the weather.  Other reasons, too, but that was in the top 3.  I don’t want to live in a place where the weather drags you down.  Constant rain was hard to take.  But intermittent snow that follows days where your shoulders get sunburned?  That’s kinda psycho…

I admit it, I’m a weakling.  I try to let the sunshine fill my heart, but I need a little help sometimes.  May first and driving through snow flurries brings me way down.

Counting the days to Thailand and Indonesia now.  I won’t mind if it’s snowing the day I leave!

Don’t take it personally….

About catnipkiss

I am a writer who is working on a travel memoir. I write about issues that speak to my soul: love, sex, yoga, spirituality, body image, dating and friendship, and more as it comes up! I love comments - thanks! What would YOU like to explore?
This entry was posted in life, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

