Why I’m not Doing Yoga (or, WHY the Hell am I not Doing Yoga??)

I am currently traveling throughout Spain. I know, rough life. My yoga practice at home consists of about four to six classes per week. Here, I have taken one formal Bikram class in Barcelona and done some YouTube sessions or series of my own devising about five times. That’s in a period of one month, mind you. My body is mad at me.

What has occurred to me most often in this missing yoga/not doing yoga vicious circle is that a practice is not only what you do when you have the convenient yoga studio nearby, it is what you do when you don’t. A practice is a routine. If yoga is as necessary to my life as the other things in it — such as eating, drinking, sleeping, breathing — then I will find a way to do yoga even without a formal class.

I tried doing yoga by the pool, and became embarrassed. I tried doing yoga in a hotel room and did not have enough room. I tried doing yoga in someone’s living room and lost interest. In all of these cases, I could have persevered, “yoga’d” my body and been a happier person for it, at least for the day.

Today, I unfurled a beach towel on a stone floor, wrote down the Bikram series from memory, and committed myself to doing the series (once through on each pose, minus the heat and sweat). Forty-five minutes later I was stretchy, limber, more balanced, and smiling.
I’ll remember the feeling tomorrow, I think, and duplicate my efforts. The traveling practice must begin!

About catnipkiss

I am a writer who is working on a travel memoir. I write about issues that speak to my soul: love, sex, yoga, spirituality, body image, dating and friendship, and more as it comes up! I love comments - thanks! What would YOU like to explore?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I’m not Doing Yoga (or, WHY the Hell am I not Doing Yoga??)

  1. harriet bissell says:

    m trying to estabish a meditation practice and run into the same distractions, even though I have not left home. I am trying to get to the point where I don’t THINK about it, I just DO it…..good or bad, no judgment. My advice: JUST DO IT! Even if it’s three stretch-y poses first thing in the morning. Your body will thank you!

    • catnipkiss says:

      Yes, even if one is doing other things (like mucking stalls!) yoga is important for physical and spiritual health, and I need to get it IN or I suffer!!! 3 poses, I can start with that!!

Leave a Reply

