No Sex in the City

June 5, 2010

No Sex in the City…..

I have been pondering the “no sex” option on the menu of life.  I must say I don’t find it very appetizing.  I know people who are on that diet, and they seem fine, but I wonder how they are getting all the nutrients a body needs.  I know my body needs them.

I love the scene in “Sex in the City 2” where Samantha is splayed on the ground in the Abu Dhabi marketplace, gathering the condoms that fell out of her purse while shocked citizens watch, and she is screaming, “Yes!!! I have sex!!!”  But I don’t want to be Samantha.  She seems too desperate, too lewd.  That’s not me.

People have suggested, after my ending a relationship that was very physical, that I should be celibate.  Have I ever tried it?  Of course I have, I was married for 14 years!  And in my crazy twenties, I had lots of sex, but was never in a relationship.  I don’t want that either.  Friends with benefits sounds good, but I don’t know if I could do it.

I think everyone wants love.  But what does a person do if she isn’t looking to meet someone right now, but still wants to have fun?  No one my age is like me.  Everyone I know is married, or boring, or both.  People don’t go out dancing and grooving at my age (47), at least no one I know.  If Samantha was real, we’d have a great time together.  But I don’t know her.

I hate going out alone; I feel like a predator.  I want to go out dancing, flirt and talk, and go home to my dog.  If I meet someone I like, fine.  If not, that’s okay too.  I thought I might go on Craig’s list and find a similar-minded girlfriend to run around with on weekends.  Okay, Craig’s List: strictly platonic.  As I scrolled through ads to see who was on there, I was treated to several pictures of disembodied penises.  Really, guys?  You post pictures of your penis on Craig’s List?  Ewww.  I felt like bleaching my eyeballs after that. 

Back to Square One.  Sexless in the City.  Maybe I’ll try it for a while.

About catnipkiss

I am a writer who is working on a travel memoir. I write about issues that speak to my soul: love, sex, yoga, spirituality, body image, dating and friendship, and more as it comes up! I love comments - thanks! What would YOU like to explore?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Sex in the City

  1. harriet bissell says:

    ho ho…interesting. Your comment about Samantha seeming desperate. That was exactly what a movie reviewer said about her and that type of scene. THIS reviewer rather liked the movie. It was what it was. Roger Ebert, however, gave it one star..and mentioned the prevalence of crotch shots (yeah, I see what he meant….ewwwww). There’s a balance out there somewhere.

Leave a Reply

