Travel Envy

When I got back from my last trip – all of June in Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, and Bali – I came home to a garden in need of tending, and another short trip (to visit my daughter in Washington state) on the horizon.  It seemed like I was hardly home at all this summer!  I vowed that next summer I would STAY PUT and work on my house and garden, spend time with my parents, and enjoy local things.

But not so fast, Buttercup….

It’s September now, and I don’t know if I can do it.  How can I yearn for places yet unexplored and stay here in Longmont a whole summer?  It’s months away, but already my gypsy soul is pouting.

It’s partly my own fault, but I am blaming the friends I have met along the way.  You see, when I meet fellow travelers I usually exchange Facebook info with them.  So when I am home, doing my job, paying my mortgage, I can see what my travel buddies are doing.  Often they are still traveling.  One guy in particular, Ben “Jamin”, is on a 5-year trip.  I met him a year and a half ago while we were both volunteering in Chile.  He had bought a VW Kombi in Argentina and was setting it up to be his home-on-wheels.  We parted and went our separate ways, but I have been able to follow his adventures in the great videos he posts online.

Watching the videos is bittersweet; I am not a 20 or even 30-something, surfing and exploring.  I can’t live that life. I turned 50 this year.  Shouldn’t I be saving for retirement now, instead of saving for the next plane ticket?

Why can’t I do a little of both?

I didn’t get to do all this travel when I was young.  I had two great trips to Europe in my early twenties, and then the time escaped, I was married and broke (this is what happens when you marry a guy with no education or ambition!) and I could not sneak much in.  Fast-forward, through a relationship with a man who loved to travel – the opposite of the ex-husband, he was the luxury hotel type – and now, on my own with the travel bug still alive and well, I find ways to do it on the cheap and meet the BEST people along the way!  Things are ticking along at home, the kids are doing fine, my parents’ health is hanging in there.  This may not always be the case.  It’s only September, I have time to gather together a plane fare….

Hmmmmm…..

Where should I go?Image

 

 

(link to Benjamin’s Facebook page and videos:  https://www.facebook.com/HastaAlaska)

About catnipkiss

I am a writer who is working on a travel memoir. I write about issues that speak to my soul: love, sex, yoga, spirituality, body image, dating and friendship, and more as it comes up! I love comments - thanks! What would YOU like to explore?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Travel Envy

  1. Alex says:

    Nice article! I hope you have many wonderful trips in the not so distant future :-)

  2. Eric B...... the other Eric B........ says:

    Africa! That’s my next grand trip……..I’ve been there, but not how I would like to do it today…….

Leave a Reply

